Skip Navigation

AOA Announces International Presenters for 2014 Conference

20 January 2014

The AOA is pleased to announce Dr Andry Vleeming and Dr Lisa A. DeStefano.

Dr Andry Vleeming is a Professor at Department of Anatomy, Center of Excellence in Neuroscience, University of New England USA and Department of Rehabilitation and Kinesiotherapy, Medical University Ghent, Belgium will be presenting at the conference.  He will also conduct a pre-conference workshop. Dr Vleeming lectures worldwide about the clinical anatomy of chronic low back and pelvic pain to various medical specialists.

Dr Lisa A DeStefano is an Associate Professor and Chairperson of the Department of Osteopathic Manipulative Medicine (OMM) Department within the College of Osteopathic Medicine at Michigan State University. She is the Clinical Director of the OMM Clinic within the College of Osteopathic Medicine at Michigan State University and Course Director of the Manual Medicine Continuing Education courses within the College. Dr DeStefano will be presenting at the conference and will also conduct a post-conference workshop.

We will be announcing more speakers in January 2014. Capacity is limited so please register early to avoid disappointment.

AOA National Conference 2014

< Back

Latest news

National Safe Work Month

Supporting October’s National Safe Work Month, Osteopathy Australia is encouraging Australians to incorporate simple movements such as stretching, standing up, walking meetings, changing postures regularly and micro-breaks into their working day to reduce the risk of developing a chronic pain problem, or a work-related musculoskeletal complaint.

Media Release: Lower back pain & Osteopathy

Lower back pain is one of the most common complaints seen by a GP or healthcare professional. It is estimated that over 80% of Australians will experience lower back pain at some point in their lives. Lower back pain may be acute (new pain) or chronic (longstanding pain), and it can range from mild and annoying to severe and debilitating.

Osteopaths are health professionals who are highly trained to treat lower back pain. An osteopath will explain to you why your pain is present, assist to relieve it with manual therapy and identify any barriers to your recovery. During a consultation with an osteopath, your practitioner will first discuss your case and thoroughly assess your condition.